International Ceramic Art Fair

The Gardiner Museum
May 23 - June 2, 2024

Gitigan mukwa / Garden Bear

Michel Dumont
Gitigan mukwa / Garden Bear , 2017
taxidermy form, glass eyes, plywood backed polyurethane foam, hand tinted grout, ceramic tiles
14 ½ x 16 x 21 ½ inches

International Ceramic Art Fair 2024

May 23 – June 2, 2024
Special Exhibition Hall. 3rd Floor
Included with admission. Free for Gardiner Friends.

Preview Gala
May 22, 7 – 10 pm
Be among the first to view and purchase the artworks at the Preview Gala.

The International Ceramic Art Fair (ICAF) returns to the Gardiner Museum from May 23 to June 2, 2024. ICAF is a 10-day celebration of some of the most compelling recent ceramic art, featuring works by emerging and established artists from a wide range of backgrounds, as well as online and in-person programming by artists and curators. We are pleased to be an invited exhibitor.

About ICAF 2024

ICAF 2024 focuses on the theme of gathering to explore ways in which artworks, and clay as a medium, can bring us together to create common ground. Amid political, religious, ethnic, class, and cultural divides, gathering enables us to focus on how we are united in our humanity, highlighting shared experiences and needs. Gathering encourages listening, as we share space within the action of coming together. To gather is also to collect our resources, both internal and external, for healing and survival. We gather with emotional and spiritual intention, honouring our full capacities as beings to face the challenges and opportunities we encounter. ICAF 2024 highlights Canadian and international artists who engage clay as a medium for coming together to reassert our shared bonds with each other and the earth.


Amélie Proulx
Daniel Gruetter **
Donté K. Hayes
Futamura Yoshimi
Halima Cassell
Imai Hyoe
Jacqueline Bishop
Laurent Craste
Linda Sikora
Marie Côté
Marissa Y Alexander
Michel Dumont **
Nakashima Harumi
Natalia Arbelaez
Peter Pincus
Stephen Andrews **

** PPCA gallery artists


Chiguer Art Contemporain (Québec City, QC)
Ferrin Contemporary (Cummington, MA)
Joan B Mirviss LTD (New York, NY)
Joanna Bird Contemporary Collections (London, UK)
Mindy Solomon Gallery (Miami, FL)
Paul Petro Contemporary Art (Toronto, ON)

With thanks to our 2024 Honorary Committee

The Hon. Hilary Weston (Chair) / James Appleyard / The Hon. Nicole Eaton / Yvonne Fleck / Victoria Jackman / Ydessa Hendeles / Nancy Lockhart / The Hon. Margaret McCain / David Mirvish / Kent Monkman / Melanie Munk / Mia Nielsen / Lynda Prince